CEP 810: Networked Learning Project- Hair Styling

As I watch TV, I always think to myself, “how do these women get their hair to look like that?” To answer my own question, it is probably because they have a team of well-trained stylists and a plethora of hair products and tools. While perhaps a seemingly shallow task, I want to teach myself how to create “beach waves” and “curls” in my hair. To some, this might not seem like a challenge. However, because I have pin straight hair and have never done anything else with it my whole life, I assure you this will present its obstacles.

There are several YouTube videos, wikiHow pages, and how to guides dedicated to this styling skill. Being a visual learner, I decided to start my learning process by watching some videos. Some challenges I already see are with deciding which tools to use (a flat iron or a curling iron), which products to use, and which methods to use. Over the next few weeks, I hope to discover which method works best for my hair through trial and error.

The first process I’m going to use to get a “beach wave” is by utilizing a flat iron to set spirals of hair created by twisting hair around your finger. The method is demonstrated here:

I chose to start here because I already own the products and the method requires the least amount of styling skills based on my online research. In this first week, I wanted to test out my initial skills to make sure there is plenty of room for progress. There is.

An additional method I play to try is by using a curling iron to gain a similar effect, but more neat in appearance. One video I plan to follow is here:

There are hundreds of online tutorial videos on YouTube, so it will take me a while to sort through all of these and combine methods. Additionally, I plan on reading how to directions to see if this supports or hinders my progress when I don’t have audio to assist me.


References:

Claire Ashley. (2011, June 6). Summer Loose Curls Hair Tutorial! . Retreived July 23, 2014, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_pqFJRgT28

RockerBarbiie. (2012, July 27). Beach Wave Tutorial With a Flat Iron . Retrieved July 23, 2014, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ug6ovEOdPxY

 

4 thoughts on “CEP 810: Networked Learning Project- Hair Styling

  1. I enjoyed reading your post and looking at the videos you included. I actually used one of your videos to try beach waves for the first time in my daughters hair. The video was really helpful! I laughed at how wrong I was doing the waves before I watched the video. My daughters hair turned out great for a family wedding we attended last night. Thank you for the inspiration.

  2. Ben Rimes says:

    I love this idea, and it lends itself really well to being documented. I think some nice before and after shots in the mirror would be perfect. Although, if you have the ability to, a time lapse would be awesome to capture the work in progress like the first video you shared. The amount of time it looks like you have to put into the beach wave seems daunting, but then I’m just a guy, so anything beyond a simple comb is a lot of work 🙂

Leave a comment